Pots and Kettles

Propaganda 101: Pots Calling Kettles Black

Propagandists’ most predictable trick is to loudly and repeatedly accuse others of their own sins. In colloquial terms its known as the “the pot calling the kettle black.”

Propaganda:

“They hate our freedom.”
-George W. Bush, March 18, 2002

“They hate our freedoms.”
-John McCain, January 5, 2008

Reality:

Bush and McCain are talking about Islamic terrorists who are hostile to the US. But I don’t think Islamists give a damn about our freedom. I think they hate our support of Israel’s occupation of Palestine and our military bases all over their oil-rich Holy Lands.

I wasn’t born yesterday. Islamic terrorists don’t care about my freedom or yours. But all my life it has been clear that many of my own countrymen hate my freedom, my long hair, my clothes, my lifestyle, my philosophy, etc.

Whose freedom is it that these Good Americans hate? Yours and mine, baby!

George (Jack Nicholson): You know, this used to be a helluva good country. I can’t understand what’s gone wrong with it.
Billy (Dennis Hopper): Huh. Man, everybody got chicken, that’s what happened, man. Hey, we can’t even get into like, uh, second-rate hotel, I mean, a second-rate motel. You dig? They think we’re gonna cut their throat or something, man. They’re scared, man.
George: Oh, they’re not scared of you. They’re scared of what you represent to ’em.
Billy: Hey man. All we represent to them, man, is somebody needs a haircut.
George: Oh no. What you represent to them is freedom.
Billy: What the hell’s wrong with freedom, man? That’s what it’s all about.
George: Oh yeah, that’s right, that’s what it’s all about, all right. But talkin’ about it and bein’ it – that’s two different things. I mean, it’s real hard to be free when you are bought and sold in the marketplace. ‘Course, don’t ever tell anybody that they’re not free ’cause then they’re gonna get real busy killin’ and maimin’ to prove to you that they are. Oh yeah, they’re gonna talk to you, and talk to you, and talk to you about individual freedom, but they see a free individual, it’s gonna scare ’em.
Billy: Mmmm, well, that don’t make ’em runnin’ scared.
George: No, it makes ’em dangerous. Nik, nik, nik, nik, nik, nik, nik, nik – Swamp.

-Easy Rider

Easy Rider is a 1969 American road movie written by Peter Fonda, Dennis Hopper and Terry Southern, produced by Fonda and directed by Hopper. It tells the story of two bikers (played by Fonda and Hopper) who travel through the American Southwest and South with the aim of achieving freedom. The success of Easy Rider helped spark the New Hollywood phase of filmmaking during the late sixties.

Artist – Cream

Song – I Feel Free
Album: Fresh Cream
Lyrics – by Jack Bruce and Pete Brown

Feel when I dance with you,
We move like the sea.
You, you’re all I want to know.
I feel free, I feel free, I feel free.
I can walk down the street, there’s no one there
Though the pavements are one huge crowd.
I can drive down the road; my eyes don’t see,
Though my mind wants to cry out loud.
I feel free, I feel free, I feel free.
I can walk down the street, there’s no one there
Though the pavements are one huge crowd.
I can drive down the road; my eyes don’t see,
Though my mind wants to cry out loud,
Though my mind wants to cry out loud.
Dance floor is like the sea,
Ceiling is the sky.
You’re the sun and as you shine on me,
I feel free, I feel free, I feel free.

Steppenwolf – Steppenwolf (1968)
Born to Be Wild (Mars Bonfire)

Get your motor runnin’
Head out on the highway
Lookin’ for adventure
And whatever comes our way
Yeah Darlin’ go make it happen
Take the world in a love embrace
Fire all of your guns at once
And explode into space

I like smoke and lightning
Heavy metal thunder
Racin’ with the wind
And the feelin’ that I’m under
Yeah Darlin’ go make it happen
Take the world in a love embrace
Fire all of your guns at once
And explode into space

Like a true nature’s child
We were born, born to be wild
We can climb so high
I never wanna die

Born to be wild
Born to be wild

Leave a Reply

